Trying New Things: Avocado

An avocado is not something I was ever tempted to try until recently.  The first time I had guacamole was ~2 years ago when we visited Cancun.  Surprisingly, the guacamole, salsa, and chips were better than my actual dinner entrée.  It had such a nice lime and garlic flavor that I forgot that it had avocado in it.

There is something about the overall appearance of an avocado, as well as the texture once you cut it in half, that just didn’t appeal to me.  I think most people would agree that they would tend to eat food that looks more appetizing over one that doesn’t look visually appealing.  To me, an avocado isn’t “pretty.”  On top of that, I sometimes tend to have an issue with foods that have “different” textures.  Once you cut it in half and start to scoop it out, the avocado falls into that texture category to me.

avocado

 

When I started looking into it, the nutrition benefits of avocado definitely outweighed the fact that it’s not “pretty” and has a “weird” texture.  They are high in potassium, fiber, vitamin E, folic acid, and “good fat,” amongst other vitamins/nutrients.  They have anti-inflammatory properties and are good for blood vessel and heart health.  The list goes on.

When I was looking for some “sweet treat” recipes, I began to see several that used avocado.  My initial thought was, “How can that be any good?”  A dessert that tastes like avocado sounded disgusting.  When I read reviews of the recipes, however, I found that most commented on how moist/creamy the avocado made the dessert.  There were no complaints about the dessert tasting like avocado.  So, I thought, I am making so many other changes in my diet, maybe it’s time to try something totally new.  What did I have to lose?

I decided to start with something “safe:” a chocolate avocado cookie recipe.  It didn’t disappoint.  I would say that the texture of the cookie is more like that of a brownie.  They were very moist and made for a great snack or dessert throughout the work week.  The recipe is available at: http://www.thankyourbody.com/recipe-avocado-chocolate-cookies/

Here is the recipe with a few changes that I made:

Avocado Chocolate Cookies

Ingredients:

4 ounces organic unsweetened chocolate melted in 1 tbsp. butter
1 avocado
1/4 cup maple almond butter
1/2 cup honey
3 organic, cage-free eggs
1/4 cup cocoa powder
3 tbsp. almond flour

Instructions:

1. In a food processor, puree the avocado until it’s very smooth. (I didn’t have a food processor at the time, so I just used a fork to smash up the avocado in a mixing bowl).

2. Add the other other ingredients, one ingredient at a time, and pulse until the batter is combined.  (Again, I just used a fork and good ol’ elbow grease to do the mixing).

3. Chill the batter in the fridge for at least an hour.

4. Fill a pastry bag with the chilled batter and pipe the batter out onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, about a tablespoon at a time. Or, drop the chilled batter onto the paper by heaping tablespoonfuls.  (A tablespoon worked just fine, I’m not a fancy enough baker to own a pastry bag).

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-17 minutes (check after 15 minutes).

6. Allow the cookies to cool for five minutes, then remove to a cooling rack or plate.

DSC02026

 

Although I still am not brave enough to just scoop out a big spoonful of avocado and eat it raw, these cookies were a good start.  We have found a guacamole recipe that we like as well, which nicely replaces the sour cream and cheese on Mexican food dishes.  I would have to say that I’ve already come a long way when it comes to avocados, considering the first time that I bought them I had no idea how to open them, what was inside, or how to know when they are ready to eat.  I was pleasantly surprised to find the answer to the last question right on the avocado’s sticker itself: “Ready to eat when soft.”  You learn something new every day. 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

