No-Bake Cookies

Seeing this recipe brought back memories of ~7-8 years ago.  I was in PT school, living by myself, and it was hard cooking for one (and being on a grad student budget).  When I had a sweet tooth, often I would bake something and then share with some of my classmates.  When I didn’t have the time, patience, and/or ingredients to bake, I would grab a pan and make no-bake cookies.  This was also at a time that I was doing a lot of running to train for 1/2 marathons, so I didn’t feel guilty for making a pan of no-bake cookie “dough” and eating it straight out of the pan (it is possible this served as dinner at times as well).  I figured that I would “burn it off” when doing a long run the next day.  I’m pretty sure that the recipe I used contained at least 2 cups of white sugar, as well as containing milk.

Gone are the days of having cookie dough for dinner, but the occasional craving for a no-bake cookie remains every now and again.  So, when I found this recipe I was glad to give it a try.  The original recipe can be found at:

http://sweettreatsbyshayna.blogspot.com/2011/10/no-bake-paleo-cookies.html.

I couldn’t imagine “ruining” my no-bake cookies with coconut flakes ( I just can’t make myself like the taste or texture of most things coconut), so I decided to substitute gluten-free quick-cooking oats.  It took a little more than 1 cup to make it so that the cookies were not too runny.  I think that next time I make these I will use less pecans.  I didn’t mind the flavor of them in the cookies, but it seemed like they were always getting stuck in my teeth :0

DSC02036

The recipe with a few changes I made:

No Bake Cookies

Ingredients:

-At least 1 cup gluten-free quick-cooking oats (add more to obtain desired consistency of your dough)

-1 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chips

-1 cup chopped pecans

-1/2 cup almond butter

-1/3 cup honey

-1/3 cup olive oil

-1 Tablespoon cinnamon

Directions:

Heat chocolate chips, oil, honey, and almond butter in a sauce pain on medium heat until the chocolate chips are a smooth consistency.  Turn off the heat and add cinnamon, oats, and nuts.  Stir well to incorporate all ingredients into chocolate.  Drop by the spoonful onto a parchment paper covered cookie sheet.  I allowed mine to stay in the fridge for at least an hour; they did not seem totally set after 30 min.  In fact once I was sure the cookies were set, I just stored them in the fridge.  They didn’t seem to last long…  🙂

Leave a Reply

