What’s for Breakfast?

One of the first things I’m thinking about when the alarm clock goes off in the morning (or when hopefully waking up to no alarm clock on the weekends!) is, “What am I going to have for breakfast?”  I cannot function without eating breakfast.  Even when I don’t wake up hungry, I eat breakfast.  It is part of getting me going in the morning.

Up until ~2-3 months ago, I was eating a lot of frozen waffles with peanut butter and syrup for breakfast.  Although they were gluten-free and had a much smaller ingredients list than the regular frozen waffles (not to mention incredibly tasty), they still weren’t a great choice for breakfast.  My other go-to was the pre-packaged oatmeal in a variety of “flavors.”  I realized that I could make my own “flavors” with no “junk” using quick-cooking or old-fashioned gluten-free oats, a little almond butter, honey, and whatever other dried fruit or nuts I want.

There are days, however, when we don’t want any of the above, or eggs (or perhaps we are out of eggs).  So, I went looking for some more unique breakfast recipe ideas.  I came across a recipe for “Breakfast Bacon and Maple Meatballs,” and at first all I could think was that breakfast and meatballs are two words that don’t really go together.  However, I was also intrigued and of course had to try them.

DSC02043

The nice thing about these is that you can make them over the weekend, then re-heat and eat them all throughout the week.  I even froze about a half-dozen of them to have when we’re in a time crunch and don’t have anything pre-made for breakfast.  I did not make any major changes to the original recipe, which can be found at: http://paleomg.com/breakfast-bacon-maple-meatballs/

Breakfast Bacon and Maple Meatballs
Ingredients:
  • 1lb breakfast sausage
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 4oz button mushrooms
  • ½ yellow onion, peeled (I used a whole small onion)
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 5-6 slices of bacon
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
 Instructions:
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Place your bacon slices in a pan over medium heat. Cook on both sides until crispy, place on a paper towel to soak up the excess fat and cool, then crumble into small pieces that would fit well in meatballs.
  3. Place your sweet potato in a food processor with the shredding attachment. Shred your sweet potato, remove contents, then shred it once more. You want it pretty fine.
  4. Then shred your onion and mushrooms in the same container with the sweet potato that was shredded twice.
  5. Add your sweet potato, mushrooms, and yellow onion to a bowl along with your breakfast sausage, maple syrup, garlic clove, diced bacon, and salt and pepper and mix well. (Hands work better than a utensil)
  6. Place parchment paper on a baking sheet then start making your meatballs.
  7. Roll the meatballs in your hands and place on a baking sheet. Repeat until all your ingredients are gone.
  8. Bake for 30-35 minutes until meatballs are golden brown and completely cooked through.

Don’t be afraid to try something different for breakfast!!  These are worth trying in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

