No-cheese Lasagna

When I used to make homemade lasagna, I was not skimpy on the cheese.  Most of the time I would use 2 bags of shredded cheese and one container of ricotta cheese for a 9×13 pan.  Lasagna is just not lasagna without that bubbling cheese and loads of sauce in my opinion.  So, when cutting dairy out of my diet it was not an option to just decrease the cheese in the lasagna and say everything would be okay.  I had made lasagna using zucchini as the noodles in the past, but it still had cheese in it.  I was unable to find a grain and dairy-free lasagna recipe that looked appetizing until recently (or maybe I was just pouting about the fact that I can’t have cheese).  I was actually quite surprised at how good this tasted, and all in all I didn’t miss the cheese.  My husband even liked it, and he would pick a pan of traditional lasagna over almost anything (except Mexican food) on most days.

DSC02070

The original recipe is called “Paleo Lasagna” and can be found at:  http://paleoaholic.com/paleo/paleo-lasagna/

I made a few changes to the recipe as follows:

Ingredients
  • 1 lb Ground beef
  • 1 lb Mushrooms
  • 1 eggplant
  • 3 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 bunch of fresh spinach
  • 2 Poblano peppers (I did not use these, didn’t have any!)
  • 1 tsp Oregano
  • 1 tsp Basil
  • 1 Onion diced
  • 2 Zucchini, sliced lengthwise
  • 1 Can of Organic Tomato paste (I do not like tomato paste, and to me, this amount wouldn’t have made enough sauce.  I used a large mason jar of spaghetti sauce.)
 Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Grease baking pan with coconut oil (or oil of your choice, I don’t like the taste of coconut oil)
  3. Slice zucchini lengthwise into thin slices and add salt to taste (I also layered them between pieces of paper towel for ~15-20 min. to reduce the water content in the lasagna)
  4. Slice eggplant lengthwise
  5. Over medium to high heat add oil to skillet
  6. Add onions to skillet and saute for 2-3 min
  7. Add ground beef and cook for 5-7 min
  8. Stir in tomato paste (or spaghetti sauce), basil, oregano and bring to a boil
  9. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 min
  10. To assemble lasagna, spread ½ of the meat sauce into the bottom of prepared pan. Then layer the zucchini slices, spinach, followed by all of the mushrooms and peppers and top with eggplant.  (I added the spinach and mushrooms to the cooked sauce, then alternated zucchini and eggplant layers with a layer of sauce between each.)
  11. Add as many layers as you wish (or until you run out of sauce)
  12. Bake for 45 min at 350 degrees
  13. Let stand 5 min before serving

This recipe will stay in the “Yes, you can make it again” folder on my computer.  Yes, there have been a few disasters when trying new recipes, but live and learn 🙂

Leave a Reply

