Pumpkin Muffins

I am not sure that I’ve had anything made from pumpkin that I didn’t like.  The big two for me are probably pumpkin pie (with a TON of Cool Whip, and preferably no crust) and pumpkin bread/pumpkin roll with that amazing cream cheese icing.  Fortunately, it hasn’t been that hard to find a lot of different recipes for various items made from pumpkin that are grain, dairy, & white sugar-free.  You  just have to pick which one(s) you want to try.  I was intrigued by a recipe called “Paleo Pumpkin Breakfast Cookies” because I am always looking for something new to have for breakfast, and to think about being able to eat a cookie for breakfast makes me think about being a young kid when this wasn’t necessarily allowed 🙂

When I started stirring together the ingredients for the cookies, I realized that the batter was looking way too runny to hold its form on a cookie sheet.  I’ve ignored this fact before and ended up with a mess and a waste of a lot of ingredients, so I thought I would just try to make muffins instead.  It turned out quite well.

DSC02075

One of the nice things about this recipe, whether you make cookies or muffins, is that you can pick from many different “add-ins” to your liking.  They came out extra moist and even though they didn’t have any frosting my husband liked them as well 🙂

I adapted the recipe from: http://www.preppypaleo.com/2012/09/paleo-pumpkin-breakfast-cookies.html

Here’s how I made them:

Ingredients

1/2 cup almond butter
1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
1/4 cup raw honey
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1.5-2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1/4 tsp. salt
2-3 cups mix-ins of choice (I believe I used dairy-free chocolate chips, raw pumpkin seeds, and dried cranberries)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.  Line muffin tin with liners and spoon batter in to fill each ~3/4 full.  I didn’t have a specific baking time for muffins since the recipe was for cookies, so I started with 15 minutes and then used the good ol’ “stick a toothpick in the center of it and when it comes out clean they’re done” method.

I’m about to get some of these out of the freezer to have for this week.  I may experiment with using only 1 egg vs. 2 next time I make this recipe to see if it will actually make cookies, but it’s never a bad thing to find out the hard way that there’s another use for a new recipe that you try!

Leave a Reply

