Sweet Potato and Kale Chicken Patties

I am not a huge fan of kale by itself.  If it is hidden within other ingredients or chopped up in small amounts in a salad, I can handle it (and its many health benefits).  When I found this recipe, I think I was most intrigued because it looked like something very different.  I remember thinking that it could be a total “flop” as well, not knowing at all what it would taste like.  I also remember thinking, “I’ll just fry them up in bacon grease, and if they’re that bad, maybe they will at least taste like bacon and we can still enjoy them.”  🙂

These do require some in-advance preparation time, which could be a good thing or a bad thing.  If you are a good planner, they could make a good meal that is easy to just throw in the skillet and cook maybe on a late night getting home from work.  If you forget to plan in advance, I’m not sure how it would work out if you don’t let the mixture of ingredients sit in the fridge for at least 4 hours.

DSC02146

I found this recipe at:

 http://www.multiplydelicious.com/thefood/2012/06/sweet-potato-and-kale-chicken-patties/

My version:

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 small-medium sweet potato, peeled and cut into small cubes
  • ~2 1/2 cups kale, finely chopped (I don’t think I actually accurately measured this, might have used a little less out of fear that it would taste too strongly of kale!!)
  • ~1 pound skinless boneless chicken breasts
  • Sea salt to taste
  • Garlic powder to taste
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons almond flour (I’m not sure exactly how much I used, just made sure it was enough to hold the patties together.  I know that a 1:1 substitute from coconut to almond flour doesn’t work though)

Instructions:

Heat a large skillet over medium high heat with ~1 teaspoon oil of choice.  Add onions and cook until tender, about 3 to 5 minutes.

Add sweet potatoes and cook for 4 to 5 more minutes, until barely tender.  Add kale and cook until wilted, about 2 to 3 minutes.  Set aside.

Add chicken to a food processor and process on pulse until ground.  Transfer meat to a large mixing bowl.  Add salt, garlic, paprika, rosemary, egg, almond flour, and sweet potato mix.  Mix together with hands until well combined.

Cover mixture and refrigerate for at least 4 hours (I put ours in the fridge overnight).

When ready to cook them:

Divide your chicken mixture into 6 to 7 even patties.

Coat a large non-stick pan with bacon grease (or oil of choice) to just coat the bottom.  Add patties and cook until golden crust forms, about 5 to 6 minutes, then flip to the other side and cook until golden and cooked through.  I used our meat thermometer to make sure that the chicken was at an appropriate temperature (I might have an exaggerated fear of bacteria and foodbourne illness when it comes to raw/undercooked chicken!!)

We made some homemade guacamole to serve on top of these, and they turned out to be very good.  Seems like one of those things where you can’t judge it by its looks, otherwise you may not try it.  This appears to be a common theme when trying new things…

Leave a Reply

