Homemade Deodorant

DSC02177

 

One of the first things I remember being asked after my first nutrition response visit was, “Do you use store-bought deodorant?”  I remember thinking, “Why wouldn’t I?  What else is there to use?”  Then she informed me that my body was dealing with aluminum toxicity, and that antiperspirants tend to have some form of aluminum as one of their main ingredients.  I remember getting angry that something I’ve been using daily sometimes more than once since who knows when could possibly be one of the main reasons that I’ve been having one of my main issues since high school?!

Once the anger surpassed, I was able to listen to the recommendation that I either start making my own deodorant or buy a product that they had at the office.  Luckily, I had gotten a recipe for homemade deodorant from my sister not too long before this appointment, and I had just made a batch of it (initially for my husband to be the guinea pig for).  I wasn’t too excited about making this change.

I can be quite paranoid about whether or not I stink.  I have to be up close and personal when working on my patients, and when I am working on their head and neck area especially I can’t be worrying about whether or not I smell offensively to them.  When I saw the ingredients in this deodorant, I was reluctant as to how it could possibly work.  I was worried that since there was no scent to it, I would have to feedback as to whether it was working.  I was also worried about the sensitivity of my skin to various hygiene products.

This deodorant is very easy to make, as it has only 3 (4 if you want it to smell nice) ingredients.  The recipe can be found at: http://www.thankyourbody.com/homemade-deodorant/

Ingredients:

-1/3 cup coconut oil

-2 Tbsp baking soda

-1/3 cup arrow root powder

-Essential oils as you please to make it smell good

Mix all ingredients in bowl until it is the consistency of deodorant.  Use a rubber spatula to place it either in a glass mason jar or in an old deodorant container (I switched to mainly using an old deodorant container, as I wasn’t too keen on scraping it out of the jar with my fingers and then rubbing them in my armpits!).  It can be stored either in the fridge or out on the counter (but it can melt if it gets too warm!)

The only issue I had when first using this was that it burned a little bit for a short time after applying when I had shaved under the arms.  I have been using it for almost 4 months now and I no longer have that issue.  Even if you don’t have an aluminum toxicity issue that you know about, this is a great option for those who are just looking to reduce the amount of chemical exposure they get from daily use products.

One comment

  1. Thank you so much for posting this alternative deodorant recipe!! My hubby and friends may think I’m nuts, but it really works!! (And is healthier for you). I must say I doubted it at first. I tried using “real” deodorant the other day as I was out and just being lazy in not wanting to make another batch. It just felt so clumpy though. Thanks again for sharing what you have found!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

