Eggplant Pizza

Pizza without cheese….  At first it was like all of the other things I’ve had to change, it just sounded disgusting and made me sad to think about trying it.  After having it several times now, however, it’s just another thing that you don’t miss once you cut it out.  In fact, it almost brings out the flavor of the sauce and toppings more when the pizza isn’t smothered in cheese.

I was looking for a something different (that wasn’t regular pizza with regular crust) to have for dinner (as is the case every week when I think about my grocery list) when I came across this recipe.  I have made lasagna with eggplant and zucchini, but otherwise I do not have much experience with using it in recipes.  It looked very easy to make, and you can pick whatever toppings you want to put on top, just like your favorite pizza.  My husband got home as I was assembling these, and he was excited because they reminded him of good ol’ “Bagel Bites.”  Those were tasty as a kid, but thinking about them now kinda makes my stomach turn :0  These eggplant pizzas are worth making!

DSC02186

The original recipe can be found at:  http://thedomesticman.com/2012/07/03/eggplant-pizza/

Ingredients:

-1 eggplant, sliced

-1/2 cup pizza sauce (I didn’t measure, we like lots of sauce so I just spooned it from the jar right onto the eggplant.)

-salt, pepper, garlic, and basil to taste

-olive oil for brushing

-whatever toppings you choose (I used sausage, bell pepper, and mushrooms)

Instructions:

Slice the eggplant and sprinkle with some salt on each side. Set aside for thirty minutes, then rinse and pat dry.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Brush each side of the eggplant slices with olive oil, then sprinkle both sides with salt, pepper, garlic, and basil to taste. Place the eggplants on a cooling rack that’s on a baking sheet, and bake until they are softened and a little brown, about 6 minutes.

Spoon pizza sauce on the eggplant slices, then add your toppings.

Return the baking sheet to the oven and bake for another 5-6 minutes.

I’m not going to lie, I do still get cravings for LaRosa’s pizza, but having recipes like this one on hand keeps me on track and allows the craving to subside most times.  If only it was that easy to get rid of my sweet tooth :0.

Leave a Reply

