Double Chocolate Cookies

If there was a category for “favorite sweet treats,” these cookies would definitely be included.  They were the first dessert that I made after finding out about the dietary changes I would be making.  The recipe was given to me by a co-worker, and I remember her saying something to the effect of, “I wouldn’t feel bad about feeding this to one of my kids for breakfast.”  A cookie for breakfast?  Yes, please!!  🙂

Although it is very tempting to eat all of these before even packing them up into a storage container, I have to still consider them “dessert.”  On top of that, although the chocolate chips are dairy-free, they do still contain evaporated cane sugar, which I am supposed to limit in my diet as well.  I bet they would still be good without the chocolate chips though.

DSC02166

I received a paper copy of the recipe, which states that the original recipe came from http://www.detoxinista.com.  I did not try to find it online, but searching her blog under “double chocolate cookies” would most likely bring it up.

Ingredients:

-1 cup creamy almond butter

-1/2 cup cocoa powder

-1/2 cup honey

-1 egg

-1/2 tsp sea salt

-2 tsp vanilla

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chips, if desired

Instructions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and mix well (the batter is very sticky!).  Drop batter into desired size balls onto baking sheet.  Bake for ~8-9 min.  Allow to cool for 10 min. on the pan before removing.

Note: Do not over bake!!  They will not look done when you take them out of the oven, but if you leave them in for a few extra minutes they will not taste the same!!  I might have made this mistake in the past 😉  These cookies are easy to make, have a short list of ingredients that most people would have in their house, and are delicious straight out of the oven, fridge, or freezer.  Try not to eat them all in one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

