Breakfast Stuffed Acorn Squash

I am usually a “traditional” breakfast food kind of person, meaning eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, homemade muffin, etc.  I don’t want “dinner-like” foods early in the morning (with the exception of cold, leftover pizza!).  I don’t know why, that’s just me.  So when I think of breakfast, I don’t necessarily think of acorn squash.  But, apparently these dietary changes have opened up my stubborn mind a little bit, because when  I saw this recipe, I thought, “Well, that’s something different, I should give it a try.”  Plus, almost anything that is stuffed with sausage has to be good :).

I took a chance in serving this to my husband as well; he’s not a huge fan of meals that are largely made up of any kind of squash.  It turned out to be a great, filling meal that I would definitely make again.

DSC02161

I found the original recipe at:  http://paleomg.com/5-ingredient-breakfast-stuffed-acorn-squash/

Ingredients:

-1 lb breakfast sausage

-1 acorn squash, cut in half, “guts” removed

-2 eggs

-1 small onion, diced

-garlic, salt, and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Place acorn squash cut-side down onto a jelly roll pan with a little water added to it.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the acorn squash is soft when you press on the skin (I think I did 25 min. and thought it could’ve used a little bit longer in the oven).  Remove from oven and let cool.

While the acorn squash is cooking, cook onions, spices, and sausage in skillet.  Cook down, breaking up the breakfast sausage as it cooks.  Once the breakfast sausage is almost all the way cooked through, turn heat to low and add the inside of the acorn squash.  Do this by using a spoon to scoop out the insides, leaving just the skin of the acorn squash (without tearing the skin!)  Mix the acorn squash and the breakfast sausage together then add it back to your acorn squash skin.  Once both of the acorn squash halves are full, press into the middle with a spoon to make a resting spot for your egg.

Now, I don’t like eggs with runny yolks, so I put our eggs in a skillet, broke the yolk, and fried them (instead of putting it in the oven).  Once they are done you put them on top of the squash, serve, & enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

