Peanut Butter Cookies

Although a lot of the new recipes I have found for sweet treats tend to use almond butter, peanut butter still holds a permanent place in my heart :).  There’s not much more of a basic peanut butter dessert than peanut butter cookies.  I hadn’t figured out how to make these yet with the dietary changes that I’ve made, but a month or two ago one of my co-workers told me that she had found a recipe and was nice enough to share it with me.  When I made my first batch I knew that these would be a keeper around our house, and others that have tried them that are not on the same diet have liked them as well.

DSC02226

I was given a hand-written recipe, so I don’t have a link to post for this one.  That’s why I wanted to post it on here, in case I lose my hand-written copy ;).

Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

-1 cup blanched almond flour

-1/2 tsp sea salt

-1/4 tsp baking soda

-1/2 creamy peanut butter

-1/4 cup honey (or agave if you don’t do honey)

-2 tbsp butter, coconut oil, or palm shortening

-1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

In a small bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking soda.  In a medium bowl, combine peanut butter, honey, shortening, and vanilla.  Combine wet & dry ingredients and mix well.  Scoop desired amount of dough onto parchment paper-lined baking sheet.  Use a fork to make the classic criss-cross pattern on top of the cookies.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8-12 min. or until golden brown around edges.

I allow mine to cool on the baking sheet for several minutes before taking them off and putting them on a cooling rack.  So far I have been able to resist temptation to have a giant glass of milk along with them :0.

Leave a Reply

