Homemade electrolyte drink

In between all the rainy days I have been trying to slowly increase my biking mileage.  I have started to get to the distance where I feel like I need something a little more than just plain water to drink.  In the past I have used Nuun tablets and Hammer Heed as my 2 sources of electrolytes, thinking they were better than the Gatorade/Powerade alternatives.  They do still contain maltodextrin and sorbitol, which probably are better than sucralose and high fructose corn syrup, but I was curious as to whether one could make their own electrolyte drink with sugar from more natural sources (i.e. mainly fruit itself).  My husband found several recipes, and my co-worker gave me one as well, and this weekend we tried one of them for the first time.

DSC02270

I will be making some “tweaks” to the recipe as time goes on to fine tune and have the “perfect” drink by the time the Ride Across Michigan arrives.  Our first attempt actually turned out quite well, just a little “intense” on the orange flavor for me, and possibly a little too sweet.  Overall, I would call this a good “base” recipe for one to make to suit their own taste buds.

The original recipe can be found at:

http://dontmesswithmama.com/homemade-citrus-electrolyte-drink/

Here is what we did:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup fresh orange juice (we squeezed 2 of those smaller nectarines)
  • 1/4 cup total fresh lemon & lime juice
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • sea salt to taste (I don’t have a 1/8 tsp spoon so just sprinkled some in my hand and added it)

Instructions:

Mix all ingredients in a blender or water bottle.  Blend/shake well, and refrigerate until ready to drink.

I’m thinking the next time I make it I will decrease the maple syrup even more, and work on the ratio of orange to lemon/lime juice.  Maybe I will experiment with other fruits as well in order to have a variety of drinks throughout the day for the longer rides.

Make an excuse to try this recipe, go out and be active!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

