Chocolate Muffins

This has been a week of cravings for me:  bad cravings.  I have wanted ice cream, cake with frosting, cookies, pretty much anything junk food that is really bad for me.  I am of the belief that sometimes those cravings just won’t go away until you indulge in whatever junk you keep craving; however, now I am able to do so without totally “violating” my diet changes, and risking feeling like crap later or the next day.  We have tried several muffin recipes, and this one is on the list that has been made several times.  There is not a huge list of ingredients, and it’s chocolate, enough to help with a girl’s sweet cravings :).

DSC02280

The original recipe can be found at:

http://healthyrecipesblogs.com/2015/03/04/paleo-chocolate-muffins/

Ingredients:

-½ cup creamy almond butter
-2 large eggs
-4 tablespoons maple syrup
-1 teaspoon vanilla extract
-¼ teaspoon salt
-4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
-¼ teaspoon baking soda

I have made these both with and without chocolate chips; I think they’re good both ways.  I didn’t measure, just threw in however many I thought would be good :).

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  In a medium bowl, mix the almond butter and eggs until smooth.
Add the maple syrup, vanilla, and salt, mixing to incorporate.
Gradually mix in the cocoa powder and the baking soda.
Transfer the mixture into the prepared muffin liners, filling each about ¾ full (I like to use an ice cream scoop to fill the muffin cups).
Bake 20 minutes, or until muffin are puffed and set a toothpick inserted in center of one of them comes out just a little moist (I think mine were ready just prior to the 20 min. mark, so check them early so they don’t dry out!).
Cool 5 minutes in pan, then transfer to the rack to cool 5 more minutes before eating/storing.

If I would’ve had some of these on hand earlier this week, they would’ve been devoured, and possibly only seen by me :0.  I will admit, we did have some raspberry chocolate chip muffins on hand (recipe is posted), and along with some homemade chocolate frosting (recipe possibly to be posted in the future), this served as my dinner one night this week and was enough to curb my cravings for the time being.  Sometimes you make yourself crazy trying to resist cravings; it’s great when willpower trumps craving, but when you just can’t get rid of it, I think there are some pretty good sweet treats posted on here that can help ;).

Leave a Reply

