Chocolate Bacon Cake

I must be on a sweets kick lately :).

I wanted to make my husband a special birthday cake but still stick with the no white sugar, flour, or dairy theme.  If you lived here, you would hear how much bacon is requested each day for at least one of our meals.  After doing a long of thinking, I wondered, “What would a chocolate cake with bacon mixed in it and on top of it taste like?”  All my conscience kept answering was, “Sounds pretty amazing to me.”  I was very excited to give it a try and make it a nice surprise for his birthday.

Trouble is, I haven’t been able to find a good recipe yet for a homemade chocolate cake that is my “go-to.”  I was browsing online, and saw a link for the Paleo Baking Company, and began looking at their mixes.  The ingredients for the chocolate cake and muffin mix are simple:  cocoa, coconut flour, sea salt, and baking soda.  You have to add eggs, coconut oil (or butter), honey (or syrup), and water.  I decided to take a chance and try this mix.  Yes, it is more expensive than regular cake mixes, but seeing as how a birthday is a once a year event, I didn’t feel bad splurging a bit.  The cake turned out great; it was moist and didn’t taste like coconut at all (I am not too fond of coconut flavor!)

DSC02513

I got my guidance for the bacon cake from:

http://paleobakingcompany.com/pages/paleo-bacon-chocolate-cake

At the top of this page is a “buy our mixes” link, where you can check out their other kinds of mixes as well.  I only got the chocolate cake/muffin one.

Ingredients:

-1 Package Paleo Baking Co. Chocolate Cake And Muffin Mix

-1 lb nitrate-free bacon, fried in skillet, cooled, and broken into pieces

-6 Eggs

-1 Cup maple syrup (or honey)

-1/4 Cup bacon grease (Reserved From Cooked Bacon)

-3/4 Cup butter (Melted), or coconut oil

-1/2 Cup water

-oil of choice greasing cake pan(s)

Instructions:

Pre heat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix up batter according to package directions (replacing 1/4 cup coconut oil with 1/4 cup bacon grease).  Add half of the bacon pieces to the batter.  Grease cake pan(s) with coconut or other desired oil.  Pour batter into cake pan(s). If making two 9″ round cakes, divide batter evenly between pans.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes if making two 9″ round cakes, or 30-45 minutes if making one 9×13″ cake. DO NOT OVER-BAKE. Cakes are done when an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Remove cake(s) from oven and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Now, on to the frosting.  I have found a recipe that is not only good on cake, but also good by the spoonful (coming from a girl who used to eat 1/2 to a whole container of store-bought frosting back in the day!).  It is quick and simple to make.  I don’t have a fancy tool to help with writing with icing, so I just put it in a small Ziplock back, cut off the tip, squeezed, and wrote the lovely message on the cake!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (or almond butter)
  • 4-8 tsp pure maple syrup (depending on how sweet you want it)
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 4 tsp almond milk or other milk of choice, or more for thinner frosting
  • 3/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

Instructions:

Mix up all the ingredients and frost your cake once it is cooled.  Store any extras in the fridge (or finish them up right then and there!)

The frosting recipe came from:

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/05/04/reeses-pieces-fudge-frosting/

Once I had the frosting on, I tried to be decorative about lining the edges with the remaining bacon pieces.  I never did too well in art class though.  This turned out to be a fun project for me, and my husband was pleasantly surprised.  We both enjoyed the flavor and texture of the cake, and it stored well in the fridge (who would want to share this??!!).

Leave a Reply

