Mexican Beef

We had an extra pound of stew meat sitting in the fridge thawed, so I went looking for recipes other than those for beef stew (which is what we had with the other pound of stew meat, yum).  Mexican is a staple in our house at least once a week it seems, but I had never made anything like this before, so I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best.  It smelled pretty good while cooking, but I have to admit it was not very appealing to look at in the skillet nor when I dished it into our bowls.  So, sorry, there is no “pretty” picture, just a picture of what it looks like.  You have to trust me when I say that it is good :).  I served my husband’s over rice, and I put mine over some cooked green beans (sounds weird but it tasted good to me!)

DSC02529

The original recipe can be found at:

http://nomnompaleo.com/post/22316250352/oven-braised-mexican-beef

I strayed away from the original recipe more than I usually do on the first time trying something new, mostly because I didn’t have a certain ingredient, I wanted more sauce, and I didn’t want to have to bake this for 3 hours in the oven.

Ingredients:
1 pound beef stew meat cut into 1½-inch cubes
1 tablespoon chili powder
1½ teaspoons sea salt
1 medium onion, thinly sliced & cut into quarters
1 can tomato paste
garlic powder to taste
½-3/4 cup salsa
½-1 cup chicken or beef stock (I used at least 1 cup because of the increased tomato paste)

fresh or dried cilantro to taste

In a large bowl, combine cubed beef, chili powder, garlic, cilantro, and salt.  Cook onions in a skillet until translucent, then add tomato paste, beef, salsa, and chicken/beef stock.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer.  From this point I covered my skillet and allowed the mixture to cook for ~1 hour.  The sauce thickened nicely, but I would’ve liked for the meat to be a little more tender.  I guess that takes more time and patience though :).  I think guacamole would make a nice garnish for this, but since I had the green beans I didn’t make any.   Maybe next time.  It would be a good crock pot meal if you used more meat or will be home to monitor it throughout the day.  You could always make the sauce in advance and have it in the freezer, pour it over some meat in the crock pot and go on your way.  This is something that I plan on making again in the future, possibly using beef short ribs.

 

Leave a Reply

