Grainless “Cornbread”

I got this recipe from a former co-worker, and I had actually forgotten about it until this past weekend when making “Thanksgiving dinner” for my parents, who were leaving for Florida for the winter the next morning.  My husband and I had it once in the past and liked it, but we didn’t eat it fast enough (or store it in the fridge), and that was a mistake.  After a few days it had developed a “stringy” sort of texture and just didn’t taste right.  So, this time around when making it I made sure that there would be more people to eat it, and I stored the leftovers in the fridge (it was great the next day warmed up with butter on it for breakfast).

This cornbread has a moist, cake-like texture with a hint of sweetness to it.  We ate all but 2 pieces of it that night at dinner, which must mean that it’s pretty good ;).

DSC02538

I am not sure where this recipe originally came from, so I apologize that I cannot give appropriate credit to the original author.  I made mine with maple syrup and butter.

Ingredients:

-1 1/2 cups almond flour

-1/3 cup arrowroot powder

-1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp coconut flour

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp salt

-3/4 cup almond milk

-1/4 cup butter or coconut oil, melted

-3 eggs

-3-4 Tbsp maple syrup or honey

Instructions:

Pre-head oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8×8 baking pan or line with parchment paper.  Mix all ingredients in a bowl.  Pour mixture into the 8×8 pan and spread evenly.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 min. or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Cut into pieces and serve with a big slab of REAL butter or however else you choose :).  Store leftovers in the fridge.

This might be a nice side dish to enjoy for one of your holiday meals in place of the traditional dinner rolls.  But I am not ready to talk about the holidays yet ;).

 

Leave a Reply

