Avocado Egg Salad

I was looking for something to have for lunch on a weekend, a day when there was no leftovers to heat up.  There were 1-2 boiled eggs left in the fridge from that week, so I went looking for something to make with these.  I remember thinking when I was younger that egg salad wasn’t all that good, but mostly because I don’t really like mayonnaise.  I found several recipes mentioning avocado egg salad, so I figured, as I usually do with something new, “Why not try it?”

Some of the recipes called for mayonnaise, so if you like it you can certainly add it in.  The one I went the most off of also called for some crumbled bacon on top, and while I can’t argue that this would be good, I either didn’t have any or didn’t feel like frying any.  This was a great filler for lunch, but could also be good for a quick breakfast or even a light dinner.  I spread mine over a toasted piece of pumpernickel bread (with a little melted butter).  Eat it straight from the mixing bowl with a fork or use your favorite bread/cracker, etc.  It’s pretty simple to make this your own.

DSC02545

If you type “paleo egg salad” into any search engine, you can find a lot of similar yet different recipes.  This one is closest to the one I followed, and I omitted the bacon.

http://ultimatepaleoguide.com/recipe/avocado-egg-salad/

Ingredients:

-1 hard-boiled egg

-1/2 avocado

-Lemon or lime juice to taste

-Salt, pepper, and garlic to taste

Instructions:

Mash the avocado and add lemon/lime juice.  Chop the boiled egg and add to avocado.  Add spices and stir until evenly mixed.  Serve.

I don’t see this as something that would be very good for leftovers, so I would only make as much as you need in one sitting.  This made a generous serving for one person.  Meals don’t have to have a ton of ingredients or be fancy to be filling, and this one shows just that.

Merry (early) Christmas!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

